ID #1244

How will I know if a student drops or withdraws from the course?

You can view current enrollments in your course through the People tool. When a student drops or withdraws from a course, his or her name disappears from the People tool. 
People Tool

Remember that it takes up to 24 hours for enrollment changes to occur in Canvas. If a student reports that he or she has dropped, withdrawn, or re-enrolled in a course, you may not see the name disappear or reappear in the Grades tool for up to 24 hours. For the most up-to-date enrollment information, access your Class List through the Connections Faculty tab.

 

There are further implications for drops and withdrawal in other areas of the course:

  • For a student who drops the course during weeks 1-2:
    • The student's name disappears from the People tool
    • The student's name disappears from the Grades tool
    • The student will not be factored into course statistics
  • For a student who withdraws from the course during weeks 3-6:
    • The student's name can be visible in the People tool if you select the option "Show Concluded Enrollments":
       
    • The student's name can be visible in the Grades tool if you select the option "Show Concluded Enrollments"
       Showing Concluded Enrollment in Grades

Whether the student drops or withdraws, their contributions to Discussions, Assignments, or Quizzes should remain intact within the course for archival purposes. Also, whether dropped or withdrawn, all student information is archived and reappears if the student is re-enrolled in your section during the term.

Categories for this entry

Tags: faculty, grades

Related entries:

You cannot comment on this entry